happy imbolc

…candlemas  tibetan new year  tu bi-shevat  brigit’s day  groundhog day…

shiver of cold    pulse of impending heat

half way here between winter solstice and spring equinox

gotta share my fav poem about it, “Imbolc”, by Miriam Dyak in 2004

The feeling in this still dark, unstable muddy time

that the light at the end of the tunnel is my soul

staring back at me on the inside

and I’m blind as a mole pushing through

some primal unseen path

with my stubby little snout and inexplicable will

If winter is a wide ocean of night

January is the hollow point, the trough

          that holds visions too deep to fish up in the morning

it is a cave too far down for light or even hunger

          life hibernating in me suspended, waiting

and the mind floating free of the body now

like something promising but unborn

          I want to lean over my own self to see if I’m breathing

          I want to regress into a world of fur and blood

          I am as slow as a stone’s pulse

Into the no place, no thing

Imbolc comes at the end of forever

and the beginning of all time

Suddenly there is one fiercely yellow crocus open

dreams pierce dense and soggy layers of sleep

          right up into the thin clear air of day

just like the red torpedo shoots of peonies

pierce the ground by my back door

carrying all the courage that weeks later they will need

          to unfurl those painfully delicate new leaves

I am asking for that courage, Mother

I’m ready as I’m gonna be

nothing more to wait for

just hold my hand while my eyes stumble into light

3 Responses to “happy imbolc”

  1. Lil Sis Says:

    Sorry I was so down this morning! I heart you!

  2. loopy lughnasad « embodhiment Says:

    […] voice for these two intense opposite times in the wheel of the year. ( i shared her “Imbolc” on 2.feb.2010.) please enjoy her poem on lughnasad below! never mind the sharp objects on […]

  3. savouring samhain « embodhiment Says:

    […] and murmur mutter moans at the daughter gone underground, ’til her seeds shiver shake at imbolc and burst into flame at […]

Leave a Reply

