curvy lines

per the previous post:

1. What surprised me? What did I discover or learn?

2. What was satisfying about the process or outcome?

3. What was dissatisfying? If dissatisfied, what can I do differently next time to be more satisfied?

4. Where do I want to go from here?

I’m gonna mush the questions / answers, and just ramble a bit.

DSCN3583

Bias strip curves are hard and best not to try first time when one is just not well in a few ways. They are hard but lovely. Some are flat. I began with the petal shapes. At first, I thought I’d just curve strips out from the petals until I ended with an atypical shape for the quilt overall. You can see above, I started cramming triangles in there to get me to some straight lines just as fast as I could!

But by then, even strips became too tiresome. I ripped out the crammed in scraps and appliqued the dern thing.

DSCN3585

There was plan for some certain colors to emphasize and shapes to emerge, which couldn’t once I changed course. I gestured toward those aspects in the form that the quilting took – silhouetting mostly underneath, then tendrils reaching up from the planty-petal thing.

After the patchwork, once I shifted to the quilting, I experienced pleasure. I just like the feel of fabrics and the weighty nesty ness of making a quilt. It feels good to my finger tips and on my lap as I torque and twist and dance it through the machine.

For a friend’s 1st babe, symbol of 2 becoming 3, new growth green kinda thing.

This was one of 2 baby quilts I wanted to make rather quickly. Trying the curved strips helped me realize that I need an unintended project – a truly improvisational attempt – to see what we see… That’ll have to wait a while. I have a list of folks I want to make quilts for, and I like making functional art. I always hope folks will use and abuse, wash and stain and live on, under, and with these fabric sandwiches. (baby belly time, picnics, naps, furniture moving, pet bedding, whathaveyha…)

DSCN3584So, yeah, I readily welcomed the 2nd baby quilt to involve simple strips and clearer stripes (which was something I mentioned moving toward in my previous post). Here we are with curvy lines, yum. I did not let myself go as much as I envisioned. I really enjoyed resting in to the simplicity, the straight edges, the no-thinking. All I prefrontal-cortexed was eking out the rainbow order using only scraps from older projects.

DSCN3590While I was at it with simple straight edges, I made it a square instead of a rectangle.

DSCN3589Again, the quilting was a no-mind kind of happening. Raw fun. I didn’t plan it out or ahead whatsoever. Just started that maniacal exchange with the machine and voila.

DSCN3593There are 3 primary spirals (didn’t plan that), so there’s the 2 adults : 1 baby thing again.

This rapid time for manifesting these 2 quilts was in part due to my leaving home/familiar anythings/access to technology for a while. Because of some happenings and current conditions, I can see that I am far from my performance artist ways and days… maybe some of that avenue of creativity will remerge in the future. I am curious for it to…

One Response to “curvy lines”

  1. 2 in 1 | embodhiment Says:

    […] 3 petals habit was not at all what i meant to repeat. i have not matured as a quilter enough to have the patience […]

Leave a Reply

