comfort quilt

DSCN3984Strip quilt with Chinese coin pattern  ~70″ x 70″

There are arguments for which coin pattern this would be (Chinese, Roman, Bars…). I put 4 strips together with the palest whites I had in between. There are some tasty semantics I am learning ever more in the quilting whirrld.

In fact, this is not a quilt!

A few other quilts I’ve made are not quilts. When I knot the layers together (as in this one) instead of using stitching, it’s technically a comforter. And many store-bought ready-made comforters out there in our shoppy stores are actually quilts.

1. What surprised me? What did I discover or learn?

…I continue to love simply making quilts. I love touching fabrics and swimming visually in the colors and threads. One of my favorite aspects of a quilt to personalize for the receiver is the overall weightiness of it – often based on the selection of the backing fabric. I have stark memories of various homings in my life and the quality of the drape of bedclothes. It’s a very important somatic perception for me. With the range of coverings so heavy I can barely roll under them, or flannel sheets clinging to flannel pajamas I get all bound in, or airy and cool breathers… love ’em all in their seasons.DSCN3989

Also, yarn (for the knotting) is ridiculously hard to get through 3 layers of fabric. I like the effect of washed wool knots getting bumpy and fuzzy on the top of the comforter and adding to the visual design. But my fingers can’t handle the hundreds of times I’m to repeat the task. I went with a thin yarn this time. I’ve used easy embroidery floss before. I found no info, searching discussion boards etc. online, for tips on threading thick yummy textured yarn into quilts… I mean comforters…

DSCN39872. What was satisfying about the process or outcome?

It was delicious to push together all the scraps from near any fabric project I’ve made in the past 15+ years. There were satiating combinations of independently ugly patterns or colors that made something lovely and strange together. I tried not to get stuck on any combos that worked well. Some fabrics did have a magnetism towards each other that I followed or refused in turns.

3. What was dissatisfying? If dissatisfied, what can I do differently next time to be more satisfied?

There’s that too-forced wabi-sabi break in the column with the slice and space and smaller triangle. When I saw theDSCN3985 curve to the initial columns, I thought that when I went to shore them up I could find an opportunity for some such slicing. This section called out to me. The bottom of the triangle was beautiful and got lost completely in the end, so to square off the whole center patchwork. The curve in the remaining column looks odd. I would rather that were straight. Nevertheless, it was another experience with a curve and the pleats were hand stitched down this time. I like that effect.

4. Where do I want to go from here?

I have a list of 6 more adult sized functional quilts I want to make for loved ones. At least 2 of those are next… I’ll keep experimenting with a recognizable pattern and then breaking it some how. Regarding any traditional quilt patterns, like flying geese or Chinese coins, I want to mess with them more dangerously. It’s hilarious watching self try and watching self nestle into safety repeatedly. That’s a traditional pattern yah. Next up, flying geese…

I have also been picturing odd shaped wall-hanging sorts of quilts… to get to some of the story-telling I want to do in this medium.

One Response to “comfort quilt”

  1. robert turnbull Says:

    It’s MINE! Thanks – I love it and more especially YOU!

Leave a Reply

